skip to main content

  Gmail PAEC Single Sign On  Skyward  FacebookTwitter RSS


Home Parents Students Staff Employment

National Hispanic Heritage

Hispanic Heritage Month begins on September 15, the anniversary of independence for five Latin American countries-Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, and Nicaragua. In addition, Mexico declared its independence on September 16, and Chile on September 18.

El Mes de la Herencia Hispana comienza el 15 de septiembre, aniversario de la independencia de cinco países de América Latina: Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras y Nicaragua. Además, México declaró su independencia el 16 de septiembre y Chile el 18 de septiembre.


The term Hispanic, as defined by the U.S. Census Bureau, refers to Spanish-speaking people in the United States of any race. On the 2000 Census form, people of Spanish/Hispanic/Latino origin could identify themselves as Mexican, Puerto Rican, Cuban, or "other Spanish/Hispanic/Latino." More than 35 million people identified themselves as Hispanic or Latino on the 2000 Census.

El término hispano, según lo definido por la Oficina del Censo de los EE.UU., se refiere a personas de habla hispana en los Estados Unidos de cualquier raza. En el formulario del Censo del 2000, las personas de origen hispano / hispano / latino podrían identificarse como mexicanas, puertorriqueñas, cubanas o "otras hispanas / hispanas / latinas". Más de 35 millones de personas se identificaron como hispanos o latinos en el Censo del 2000.



National Hispanic Month

Back to Top
35 Martin Luther King, Jr. Blvd | Quincy, Florida 32351 | Office: (850) 627- 9651 | Fax: (850) 627-2760